Customer Reviews For The Top 5 Combination

            Primary and Backup Sump Pumps

Are you wondering what others are saying about these top 5 best selling combination primary and backup sump pump systems? For your convenience customer reviews have been provided.  The reviews provide another perspective on these sump pumps.  

As shoppers we did all of this research before purchasing our latest sump pump.  We want to share our findings with you.  We believe this information will save you time and help you discover what you want based on product features, customer reviews, price comparisons and purchase links before you buy.   

Investing in the right Sump Pump System for your situation is so important.  Your home deserves to be protected from water damage when those heavy rains come.  

Back to the Sump Pump general page.  

Top 5 Combination  Primary and Backup   Sump Pumps Site Map

1. Basement Watchdog BW4000 1/2HP
2. Basement Watchdog DFK951 1/3 HP
3. Wayne WSS30 1/2 HP
4. Wayne WSS20 1/3 HP
5. Wayne WSS10 3/10 HP


   Top 5 Combination  Primary and
  Backup Sump Pumps

  Primary Submersible
         Sump Pumps

1. Primary Basics
2. Top 20
  
       Battery Backup 
         Sump Pumps

1. Top 9


#1 Basement Watchdog BW4000 1/2 HP

Great idea and great product!, March 16, 2009

D. Dennis, Columbus, OH

We have been having problems with our basement flooding for some time. Our old pump would get stuck sometimes and also just couldn't handle the amount of water that we get. The new one has been wonderful in that is can keep ahead of the water and it gives peace of mind knowing that is has alarms if it is not working properly. I would highly recommend this to anyone with a problem basement.

 

Peace of mind, December 1, 2009

By Home Owner near St. Louis, MO

I purchased a house in a new subdivision built on a pre-existing farm field. The water table seems to be high. The sump pump in the house I bought was running on and off a lot. The house had two sump pump pits, but only 1 existing sump pump. I was worried...what if the power went out?!! I purchased this product and installed it in the open pit. It was rather easy to install. I did have to buy the recommended Watchdog battery and acid fill also. But that was easy to set up also. Both pumps are now running (with one backup in waiting). I feel more relaxed knowing that there is a battery driven sump ready to take over incase of a power failure.

 

Disappointed

By R Fischer from Virginia on 1/26/2010

It installed pretty easy in spite of an absolute rats nest of wires. Nothing but plastic everywhere. The primary pump works well, moved a bunch of water fast. Pretty quiet as well. When I tested the back up pump, would not work. Float switch worked fine, pump ran, did not move any water. Took it apart, check valve was ok, pump alone would pump water, but as soon as it was under any kind of pressure, nothing. Called tech support, they said it most likely did not have a vent hole, so said they would send me one. Went home and checked, it had a vent hole fine. Another hour of testing and the conclusion is obvious: the backup pump is a weak little pump that does not even come close to pumping at 10' of head pressure as it states right on the box. Took it back and got my money back.

Best sump pump for sure, November 10, 2009

By tech collector Midwest USA

It's expensive but not nearly as bad as having a basement flood while away on vacation. If you are replacing a sump pump or if you are adding a secondary pump this is the one to get. Everything is assembled already and you just have to connect it to the outlet pipe with the included rubber coupler. The instructions are amazing and there are even instructions for removing the pump from the packaging to avoid damaging the more delicate parts of the pump. No need for an independent check valve as this unit includes one for each pump. Replacement parts seem to be available in case something fails.

 



#2 Basement Watchdog DFK961 1/3 HP

No customer reviews are available for the DFK961, but a support question was asked Jan. 10, 2010.

How would I update my system?

Do you have someone that installs these in the Northville, MI area? No rush, I'm just looking to update my original system.

SPD RESPONDS: Once you order the Basement Watchdog system, any qualified plumber can install it.

For technical advice please feel free to contact the Basement Watchdog folks directly at 800-991-0466.

There are views for the battery backup sump pump, BWE, which is included in the DFK961.  

OK Philadelphia, PA Oct. 24, 2009                                                                   Had for five years works fine. Do not like the fact that it constantly charges the battery 24x7. I need to refill the battery twice a year with distilled water. So I guess its overcharging and boiling off into the air we breath in the house. Going to purchase the Special it shuts off when charged this should improve the air quality in the house and eliminate the need for semi-annual refills.

YIKES! Dan, Illinois, Oct. 19, 2009                                                                 Can't turn off alarm while power is off! Yikes! Ok, yes it works (realize battery will only last MAX of 3 yrs) but you'll have to listen to the alarm all night long!

Should Have Bought One Sooner

Mike, Roanoke, Indiana, Feb. 12, 2009 Great Product Easy to install...actually used it due to power outage the day I installed it..worked great i should have not put off buying one for so long...no more worries about water in the basment...

GREAT PRODUCT... Works Great! Easy to install and operate.                              John C., Missouri, Jan. 16, 2009                                                                          I have owned 2 of these for about 2 years and they work like a charm! I'll be buying a 3rd for a 3rd location today. They are easy to install and super easy to operate. They have also saved me a lot of money when the main pump stopped working.


#3 Wayne WSS30 1/2 HP

No customer reviews are available for the WSS30.  However there are reviews for the 

primary sump pump, CDUCAP850, and the backup pump, ESP25, which comprise the WSS30 Combination Pump.  

 

The following reviews are available for the primary pump CDUCAP850.

Early Impressions    April 19, 2009

P. Lundberg   Minnesota

It's hard to do a review on this because as we all know, one of the most important features of a sump pump is its reliability, and I simply haven't had it long enough to know that. So keep that in mind as you read this.

This pump is very quiet and powerful. I can just barely hear it run when standing right over the sump pit. My old Zoeller pump could be heard throughout the house. The Switch Genius works fine, and hopefully will eliminate the problem I had with my old pump of the float getting stuck.

The Switch Genius has its own power cord with a receptacle on the back of the plug, and the sump power then plugs into that. The switch receptacle is then what controls power to the sump. For continuous pumping, you simply plug the sump power directly into an outlet. Kind of an odd setup but it works. The cords were a bit short for my setup and I had to use an extension cord. I don't know how the Switch Genius works but I like the fact that there is nothing mechanical to fail.

This doesn't seem to be built as solid as my old cast iron Zoeller pump, but it is much quieter. The Wayne is described as cast iron but the only cast iron appears to be the intake/outlet housing. The impeller and top are thermoplastic, and the motor is not housed in cast iron like Zoellers are. Only time will tell if it is as reliable or not, but with a 5 year warranty I would expect it to be. My biggest concern is that if it does get stuck on I would never know it until it burns out because it is so quiet. But I do have a backup system in place.

 

Do not buy this pump if your water softener drains into the sump

By T. Dog   Machesney Park, IL   December 17, 2009

Just FYI, this pump cannot be used if your water softener brine drains into the sump pit. The salty brine water "fools" the "Switch Genius" and the pump runs constantly. I have confirmed this with Wayne Pumps. Other than that, the pump works great and is very quiet. I am going to have to buy another pump without the "Switch Genius" technology.

 

The following reviews are available for the backup sump pump, ESP25.

 

Great Item

By sig1  October 19, 2009

I purchased the Wayne battery back up to replace my ACE -in-the Hole which did not have sufficient pumping power. I now have peace of mind during power outages. Also like the 2 year warranty. The pump is simple to install and maintain. I convinced 2 other friends to replace their existing units with this product. One replaced his Ace-in -the Hole and the under replaced his Watch Dog product with the Wayne pump. I will be having my son-in-law purchase one of these as soon as he moves into his new home. You cannot beat the quality and pumping capacity for the price."

Sits quietly until needed.

 

Great Product

By zj11 September 26, 2008

The pump is powerful enough to function alone if necessary, and with a proper deep cycle battery can provide long term protection in case of a power outage. Installation is very easy, requiring only a few wires to be connected in addition to the typical sump pump installation tasks. The pump is small enough to fit alongside a main pump in a standard sump pit.

 

By nitrostreet August 11, 2008

from Mayetta, KS

This pump was packaged well, fairly good instructions on how to install it, tests okay (haven't had to use it, yet, luckily


#4 Wayne WSS20 1/3 HP

No customer reviews are available for the WSS20, however there are reviews for the primary sump pump CDUCAP725 and the backup sump pump ESP15. 

 

The following reviews are available for the primary pump CDUCAP725.

 

Excellent choice, October 19, 2009
By Wonder from Jacksonville, FL
I bought this Wayne Sump pump of 1/3 HP witch electronic switch.
I always pump basement water as soon as reached the water level.
No need to worry about switch.
 

Great Pump, April 21, 2008

By Drivenow from NH

This pump did the trick!! I was worried about the whole sensor thing but it has been 2 weeks now and the basement is dry. I would say it is one of the quietest pumps I have heard. Good solid construction gives me confidence that this pump will last a long time.

 

The following review is available for the backup pump ESP15.

A Real Basement Saving Product By Gory Storm City, Iowa                                  I see now that I ordered this pump exactly one year ago tomorrow, on 4/26/07, and kept putting off the installation until 3/9/08. Had the battery on trickle charger all winter to keep it alive. Installation was challenging, but only because of having to work in the sump. I used the Wayne pump in a temporary mount ( duct taped to a two-by-four ) to keep the sump drained while I reworked the plumbing. Managed to end up with a fairly tidy piece of work. Tested OK, and then began to wonder if it would ever see any action. Yesterday it saw plenty of action. Almost three inches of rain and the float switch on the main pump failed. My wife asked me when I got home from work, "What's that beeping noise I keep hearing?" Well, it was the Wayne pump saving our finished basement and all the stuff in it from becoming a flooded junk pond. I really like my Wayne Backup Sump Pump. Really


#5 Wayne WSS10 3/10 HP

No customer reviews are available for Wayne WSS10, however there are reviews for the backup sump pump which is included in the WSS10.

The following review is available for the backup sump pump ESP15.

A Real Basement Saving Product By Gory Storm City, Iowa                                  I see now that I ordered this pump exactly one year ago tomorrow, on 4/26/07, and kept putting off the installation until 3/9/08. Had the battery on trickle charger all winter to keep it alive. Installation was challenging, but only because of having to work in the sump. I used the Wayne pump in a temporary mount ( duct taped to a two-by-four ) to keep the sump drained while I reworked the plumbing. Managed to end up with a fairly tidy piece of work. Tested OK, and then began to wonder if it would ever see any action. Yesterday it saw plenty of action. Almost three inches of rain and the float switch on the main pump failed. My wife asked me when I got home from work, "What's that beeping noise I keep hearing?" Well, it was the Wayne pump saving our finished basement and all the stuff in it from becoming a flooded junk pond. I really like my Wayne Backup Sump Pump. Really