Primary Submersible Sump Pump Reviews Top 20

Find Out Quickly Which Pumps Are Listed In The Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps

Read What Consumers Are Saying About The Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps

Are you wondering which primary sump pumps are in the Top 20 List? Are you wondering what others are saying about the Top 20 best selling primary submersible sump pumps?
 
Based on research from online stores selling sump pumps, the list found on the right is the Top 20 Best Selling Best Rated Primary Submersible Sump Pumps. The reviews below will help you understand why consumers like the top 20. You will find the consumer reviews helpful because they provide another perspective.
 
When we purchased our last primary submersible sump pump, we created a list of the Top 20 by reading consumer reviews and their ratings to help us find the best pump for our water pumping needs. Since we spent considerable time creating the list, we want to save you time and share what we found.
 
For your convenience, the following information is provided regarding the Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps.
 
To read consumer reviews about all top 20, keep scrolling down the page. They are below the Features Comparison Table for All Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps.
 
To go to a specific topic for the Top 20, click on the topic of interest below.
Use the Quick Shop links on the upper right to go directly to the shopping link for the sump pump of interest.
 
 
 
Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps
Link to Purchase Links
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps

Click on 'Quick Shop' 'Read Reviews' 'See Features' for each pump below to perform that action.
 
1. Zoeller M53 1/3 H-P Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
2. Zoeller M98-0001 1/2 H-P Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
3. Superior 92330 1/3 -HP Thermoplastic Housing Tethered Float
 
4. Liberty 257 1/3 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Magnetic Float
 
5. Zoeller M57-0001 1/3 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
6. Liberty 287 1/2 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Magnetic Float
 
7. Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 1/3 HP Cast Iron Housing Diaphragm Switch
 
8. Wayne 58321-WYN3 3/4 HP Stainless Steel Housing Vertical Float
 
9. Wayne EE980 3/4 HP Stainless Steel Housing Vertical Float
 
10. Wayne 58325-WYN1 (RSP130)  1/3 H-P Stainless Steel Housing Vertical Float
 
11. Flotec FP0S1800A-03 1/4 H-P Thermoplastic Housing Tethered Float
 
12. Flotec FP0S2450A-01 1/3 H-P Thermoplastic Housing Tethered Float
 
13. Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SFS 506630 1/3 H-P Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
14. Wayne 57610-WYN1 SPF33 1/3 HP Thermoplastic Housing Vertical Float
 
15.Superior Pump 92250 1/4 HP Thermoplastic Housing Tethered Float
 
16.Liberty Pumps 247 Cast Iron Housing Vertical Magnetic Float
 
17.Red Lion RL-SC50T 1/2 HP Cast Iron Housing Tethered Float
 
18. Flotec E75VLT 3/4 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
19. Basement Watchdog BW1050 1/2 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
20. Basement Watchdog BW1033 1/3 HP Cast Iron Housing Vertical Float
 
Discover Pump Review by consumers Choose specific pump from list on left.
 
Find feature for each pump. Choose specific pump from list on the right.
 
Quick Shop by choosing specific pump from list on the right top of page.
 
Back to Top of Page.
 
 

Features Comparison Top 20 Primary Submersible Sump Pumps

Click To See
Specific Pump Features
 
 
Back to Top of Page.
 
 
 

Features Comparison Table All Top 20 Sump Pumps

 
N o Model HP GPH @ 10 FT Pump House Float Switch Type Solid Hand-ling Port Size A m p Shut Off Pit Dia. Req. Float On Float Off War. Price Rang
1 Zoeller M53 1/3 2040 Cast Iron Vertical 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 9.7 19 ft 12 in 7.25 3.0  in 1 yr

$119

 $125

2 Zoeller M98 1/2 3660 Cast Iron Vertical 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 9.4 23 ft 12 in 9.5 3.0   in 1 yr

$189

$214

3 Superior 92330 1/3 1680 Therm Plastic Piggy Back Tether 1/8 in 1 1/4 in 4.1 25 ft 14 in Adj. Adj. 1 yr

$69

$98

4 Liberty 257 1/3 2250 Cast Iron Vertical Magnet 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 5.2 23 ft 10 in 7.0 3.5 3 yr.

$135

$160

5 Zoeller M57 1/3 2040 Cast Iron Vertical 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 9.7 19 ft 12 in 7.25 3.0  in 1 yr.

$136 

$150

6 Liberty 287 1/2 3360 Cast Iron Vertical 3/4 in 1 1/2 in 10 37 ft 10 in 9.5 4.0  in 2 yr.

$205

$249

7 Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 1/3 1470 Cast Iron Dia-phragm No 1 1/2 in 9 20 ft 14 in 7-10  1-4.0 1 yr. $115 - $140
8

Wayne 58321 WYN3

3.4 3500 Stain-less Steel Vertical No 1 1/2 in 10 22 ft 11 icn 9.0 4.0 5 yr.

$145

$165

9 Wayne EE980 3/4 3500 Stain-less Steel Vertical No 1 1/2 in 4 22 ft 11 in 9.0 4.0 5 yr.

$169

175

10

Wayne 58325 WYN1 or RSP130

1/3 2460 Therm Plastic Tether No 1 1/2 in 4 19 ft 14 in 14.0 7.0 1 yr.

$79

$90

11

Flotec FPOS 1800A or  FPZS25T

1/4 1620 Therm Plastic Tether 3/16 in 1 1/4 or  1 1/2 in 8.5 18 ft 14 in 12.5 4.5 1 yr.

$70

$114

12 Flotec FPOS 2450A or  FPZS33V 1/3 2700 Therm Plastric Vertical 3/16 in 1 1/4 in 9 20 ft 10 inch 14.0   6 1 yr.

$96

131

13 Little Giant 6-EN CIA SFS 1/3 2528 Cast Iron Vertical 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 6 22 ft 18 in Adj. Adj. 2 yr

$149

$180

14 Wayne 57610 WYN1   or   SPF33 1/3 2500 Therm Plastic Vertical No 1 1/2 in 7 .5 22 ft 11 in 9.0 4.0 1 yr.

$109

$115

15 Superior 92250 1/4 1200 Therm Plastric Piggy Back Tether 1/8 in 1 1/4 3.8 25 ft 14 in Adj. Adj. 1 yr

$68

 $93

16 Liberty 247 1/4 1020 Cast   Iron Vertical Magnet 1/4 in 1 1/2 in 6.0 21 ft 10 in 7.0 3.5 2 yr.

$133

$179

17 Red Lion RL SC50T 1/2 3000 Therm Plastric Piggy Back Tether 1/2 in 1 1/2 in 5.3 28 ft 16 in 13.0 5.0  2 yr.

$95

$119

18 Flotec E75VLT 3/4 4020

Cast  Iron

Piggy Back Vertical No 1 1/2 in 6.3 19 ft 10 in 7.5

3

5 yr

$199

$215

19 Basement Watchdog BW1050 1/2 2820 Cast Alumin Dual Cage Vertical External Mount No 1 1/2 in 4.2 19 ft 7 in Adj. Adj. 2 yr.

$129

$160

20 Basement Watchdog BW1033 1/3 2600 Cast Alumin Dual Cage Vertical External Mount No 1 1/2 in 3.5 19 ft 7 in Adj. Adj. 2 yr.

$139

$148

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.
 

Consumer Reviews By Individual Sump Pump

 
 

Features By Individual Sump Pump

 

#1 Zoeller M53 1/3 HorsePower Consmer Reviews

It's old and rusty, but still a worker, February 13, 2014

By R. Colbourne

 

I've had one of these pumps doing heavy duty on/off pumping for at least 25 trouble-free years. It's old and rusty, but continues to provide reliable service - I use it in the cellar to control a serious water problem. I bought another, just in case, but the new one just gathers dust. This is the one!

 

Great sump, indestructible with some simple maintenance., January 6, 2013, By El Guappo NYC

 

These Zoeller submewrsibles are pretty much indestructable. Typically, the only thing that goes on them is the switch, which costs around $20 and is easily replaced.

The other thing I finally learned after a few headscratchers with these is that IT IS IMPERATIVE THAT YOU KEEP THE SMALL BLEEDER HOLE BY THE BASE CLEAR (also usually another one by the check valve). These holes are about 1/8 inch and easily clogged with debris. If you don't, the pump won't work nearly as well, and may not pump at all. I also periodically remove the base and clear out that area and the impeller as it can get clogged with sediment as well.

 

Runs quiet and price is competitive, May 8, 2014 by R Palmer

This is my first Zoeller product. I wish I would have known about them years ago. It runs so quiet. And I was surprised the price is right! I was expecting to pay a lot more for such a well-built-pump.

My Plumber was right! This is great. April 8, 2014 by S McGill

My plumber recommended the M53 to me. I found it online so reasonable. I installed it myself. It was easy to install. Am I ever glad I chose the M53. It works like a charm. My plumber told me I will need to replace the float switch every 3-5 years so I have one on hand.

#1 Zoeller M53 1/3 HP Features
 
The Zoeller M53 is very powerful as a 1/3 Horse Power. In fact it pumps just as much as some 1/2 H-P submersibles at 2,040 GPH at a 10 foot lift.
 
Its vertical float switch is two pole which means it has an arm holding it in place both at the top and bottom of the float. The float will not get hung up against the side of the pit wall because of the protruding switch guard at the top. The float is solid so will not fail if it is punctured. The motor goes ON when water is  7.25 inches and OFF when it is 3 inches.
 
The housing is built for durability with epoxy coated cast iron.
 
Its non-clogging design provides additional protection against failure. It has a vortex impeller can can handle 1/2 inch solids.
 
The M53 fits easily into a 12 inch diameter pit. If you have an 18 inch sump pit a 6-7 inch narrow backup pump will fit next to it; otherwise the Zoeller 507 backup sump can be installed in the discharge pipe (inline) so it sits above the M53.
 
 

Zoeller M53 .33 HP Cast Iron Primary Submersible Sump Pump
Zoeller M53 1/3 HP Cast Iron

 
 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#2 Zoeller M98 1/2 HP consumer Reviews

Well Built,  April 18, 2014 by R Tonney

This is built like a Cadilac. It is heavy and very sturdy. The housing is cast iron. My friends always tried to convince me to get a Zoeller. I wish I would have bought the M98 a long time ago. Buying it on the internet is cheaper. I installed it myself which was not hard.

Now I know why Plumbers recommend Zoeller! This is great. March 1, 2014 by B Wynn

My plumber and others have recommended this pump to me. I decided it was time to replace my old pump. Am I glad I bought a Zoller. The M98 is very strong. I can see how it can last twenty years and longer. I was told I should replace the switch every three to five years. Float switched on any pump do not last that long. The pump is quiet and is a work horse. We get a log of water coming in our pit during heavy rainstorms. It sounds like Niagara Falls. The M98 has no problem keeping up with the water. Its performance is more than many 3/4 hp by competitors.

Built in the USA October 5, 2013 by G Hammersill

It is hard to find sump pumps entirely made in the USA. I have tried other pumps but am convinced a USA product has better long lasting quality. I called the manufacturers and told them I was happy the M98 was made in the USA. The engineer was very pleasant to talk with. I asked a few questions about the M98 installation. I was able to install it without any problems. I am happy with my M98.

#2 Zoeller M98 1/2 HP Features
 
The Zoeller M98, though 1/2 hp, can move as many gallons per minute as many 3/4 hp pumps. It performs at 3,660 GPH at a 10 foot lift. It is a workhorse.
 
Its float switch is solid so pumcturing will not cause it to fail. It is held in place by two poles, one at the top and the other at the bottom of the float. The float is protected from pit wall hangup by a protruding switch guard at the top. The ON height is 9.5 inches and OFF height is 3 inches.
 
The housing is built for durability with epoxy coated cast iron. Cast iron dissipated heat very well so this is an ideal pump for long continuous operation.
 
The impeller design is non-clogging with its vortex design. It can handle 1/2 inch solids.
 
The size fits easily into a 12 inch diameter pit. If you have an 18 inch sump pit a narrow battery backup sump pump should fit beside it very well on the sump pit floor.
 

Zoeller M98 .5 HP Cast Iron Primary Submersible Sump Pump
Zoeller M98 1/2 HP Cast Iron

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#3 Superior 92330 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Quiet Easy to Install,  April 2, 2014 by Terry Ogliby

This is my first Superior primary submersible sump. It was easy to install. It took me only 15 minutes, but I am a handyman. It runs quiet. I am so used to hearing my old sump pump run that I had to go to the basement to see if it was working. Theuperior 92330 has a good flow rate.

Do not forget the check valve March 11, 2014 by S. Green

I installed the Superior 92330 and called the manufacturer and asked why I heard water running after the motor stopped. They asked if I installed a check valve. I had not. I found there is a quiet check valve which I bought because the motor runs so quiet. I bought it because it has a 1 1/4 connection to discharge pipe. I noticed the float switch attaches to the top of the pump which means the pump is several inches under the water before it goes on. That is OK, but it is different from my last primary submersible sump.

This is a Superior October 20, 2013 by T. Whitehall

It works great. It is powerful, quiet and very efficient. I installed it myself and did not run in to any problems. I watched it work dring our heavy rainstorm and was surprised how much water it can handle. I saw water running furiously into the pit and this 92330 did its job perfectly.

#3 Superior 92330 1/3 HP Features
 
The Superior 92330 is only 1/3 HP, but it has a lot of pumping power. It moves 1,680 GPH at a 10 foot lift and 2,040 FHP at a 5 foot lift. The discharge port size is 1 1/4 inches.
 
The Superior 9233o is energy efficent using only 4.1 amps in running mode. Start up amps is 19.
 
Since the float is tether style, it can be adjusted to deteriming the motor  'on' and 'off' height. Tethered floats always require a larger pit. The Superior 92330 requires a 14 inch diameter pit.
 
The housing is thermoplastic. The plastic is strong enough to handle continuous pumping at 1,680 GPH for a period of time during a heavy rainstorm.
 
It has a bottom suction design with an intake screen which will require routine cleaning. It can handle 1/8 inch solids.
 
The float can be removed from the pump and the pump can be used as a utility pump.
 
There os no manual override which means the switch is not piggyback.
 

Superior 92330 .33 HP Thermoplastic Primary Submersible Sump
Superior 92330 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#4 Liberty 257 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Surprised how quiet this is!  September 22, 2014 by Ron Hale

I have never had a Liberty primary submersible sump before so was not sure if I should try it. So far I am glad I did. It is so very quiet. It looks like it will last a long time. The cast-iron body makes it look very rugged. The float is very narrow. It looks dependable. I understand it is magnetic rather than mechanical which I have been told will last longer. It is very energy efficient. I really like the Liberty 257. 

Bought another to have on hand for my old Liberty 257 after 13 years June 11, 2014 by S. Manchester

All I have had gone wrong with my old 257 was the switch. I bought a new switch and replaced it and I also bought another Liberty 257 to have on hand because I like them so much. They are quiet and very dependable.  

Another Liberty 257 December 15, 2013 by T. Jamesonl

We have had our Liberty 257 for 6 years. It is still running great but since it runs so much every spiing when the snow thaws, I want to have another one just in case. We have a very high water table so it runs a lot. The only thing I would change with the Liberty 257 is increase the interval at which it turns on and off. It comes on when the water is 7 inches high and goes off when it is 3 inches high. After 6 years I guess I cannot complain because it has worked perfectly even though it turns on and off a lot.

An unbelievable submersible August 15, 2013 by F. Casper

We have had our Liberty submersible for 10 years and it is still running. I decided I better have another one on hand just in case. Really I guess I should say our pump has run 20 years because I did not have a check valve installed which meant when the motor shut off the water still in the discharge pipe ran back through the pump and into the pit so the motor kept pumping much of the same water. Now that I have installed a Campbell Quiet Check valve, the motor does not run as much and I cannot hear anthing when it does runs. It makes me wonder if the sump is working so I check it periodically.  

#4 Liberty 257 1/3 HP Features
 
The Liberty 257 is 1/3 HP and removes 2,250 GPH at a 10 foot height. It has a lot of pumping power. At a 5 foot height ot removes 2,700 GHP. The discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches.
 
The Liberty 257 uses 5.2 amps when running and only 8 amps when starting so is very energy efficient.
 
The float is a vertical magnetic design. Its movement is very stable and dependable. It is not like a mechanical switch which most primary submersible sump use. A magnet in the float draws to the switch (VMF) and closes the circuit for the pump to run. The VMF takes less room in the sump pit; therefore the Liberty 257 needs only 10 inches of pit diameter. 
 
The housing is cast iron. It looks rugged and is epoxy powder coated. 
 
Liberty submersibles are unique in that they are a one-piece cast iron body (the base and housing are one unit) which eliminates the need for the bottom seal. The power cord is also easily detachable. 
 
Its vortex styled impeller is good to use where there are small pieces of debris in the water. It has a vdrtex styled impeller, thus no screen to clean, and it can pass up to 1/2 inch solids.
 
The manufacturer offers a 3 year warranty.
 
 

Liberty 257 .33 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Liberty 257 1/3 HP Cast Iron

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#5 Zoeller M57 92330 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

A fantastic submersible sump - that lasts and lasts., October 14, 2014 By Brian Denton

I have an unusual set-up in my house: my roof drains rainwater into my basement pit, and the water is then pumped out through the house's waste line. Because of this set-up, my sump pump gets a real workout on a regular basis, and it also has to accommodate dirt, sand, grit, and some leaves. Recently the switch wore out on my Zoeller M53 sump after over 10 years of worry free use. I initially searched Home Depot and Lowes for a new submersible, but reviews of their pumps frequently reported major problems after as little as 2 years of light use! Also, their pumps are not equipped to deal with small solids, so it didn't take much thought to decide that I should replace a Zoeller with another Zoeller. This time I bought the Zoeller M57 model, but the only difference between the M57 and the M53 is whether the base structure is made of plastic or iron. I don't really see much advantage of either one over the other, but I bought the M57 with the iron base. I can sleep easy again knowing that no matter how much it rains, my Zoeller M57 can handle the job with ease.

One final note: I would recommend that anyone using a sump pump should also buy a water alarm - to alert you if your basement starts to flood. I never knew such a thing existed until I started searching for new pumps, but this $10-$12 investment can save you a MAJOR headache if, for some reason, your primary sump pump stops working.

Hoping for good performance, August 3, 2010 By K Smith

Recently I replaced a previous Zoeller with the M57.  I upgraded to the M57 for added protection since I get debris in my pit, I recently cleaned out the pit and had lots of dirt, grit and sand, etc. in it hence the effluent M57 with all cast iron construction. However, recently I opened the pit and was surprised at the amount of rust around the base of the housing and at the seams in only 1-2 weeks. Had been getting some regen. water from water softener into this pit. I stopped this flow. We'll see if the rust continues. I will rate performance further down the road.

Updated: January 22, 2014  I now have owned the Zoeller M57 3.5 yrs and no problems. Just got 2-3 inches of rain in 2 days on jan 12, 2013 ... 2 weeks after 15 " of snow fall. Ground really saturated, so got losts of water in our pit. This pump had trouble keeping up with the flow, but it never quit. Just keeps on pumping. No problems with the float switch yet either. I'll service it this spring (clean it, oil it,check the PVC piping connections and power connections and clean out the pit).

#5 Zoeller M57 1/3 HP Features
 
The Zoeller M57 is very similar to the M53. It has a 1/3 Hp motor  2,040 GPH. passes 1/2 inch solids and has the non-clogging vortex style impeller. This means there are no screens to clean.
 
The float is a vertical 2-pole mechanical switch. The float is solid buoyant polypropylene and punchring will not cause it to fail. The switch has a guard at the top of the pump to protect the float from getting hung up on the pit wall. 
 
There are no sheet metal parts to rust or corrode; they are stainess steel.
 
The O ring between the motor and pump housing are watertight neoprene. The 60Hz oil-filled motor is hermetically sealed and has thermal overload protection.
 
The M57 has a 9 foot cord which has a 3-wire cord plug. This is the standard length for automatic submersibles; non automatic plus have a 15 foot power cord.
 
The M57 uses 9.7 amps. 
 
The size is 10 3/32 inches wide.
 
It does not have a manual override which means the switch is not piggyback.
 

Zoeller M57 .33 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Zoeller M57 1/3 HP Cast Iron

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#6 Liberty 287 1/2 HP consumer Reviews

Liberty 287 a Great Pump!  June 22, 2014 by Robert Drew

I found the Liberty 287 to be of superior quality. It is not like the Big Box Stores. This is a US manufactured pump. It has excellent pumping power.

The float switch it not mechanical but magnetic. i like this design because it does not have a rubber gasket to seal the gasket to the switch arm which eliminates an additional potential for failure.

The shaft is manufactured from stainless steel which is not corrode or pit which can cause the shaft to seize in the motor housing, causing the motor windings to overheat and the insulation to fail. It is not affected by brine water either.

Very Nice. The Liberty 287 June 11, 2014 by S. Masters

I have a lot of water coming into our sump pit. I only have a 10 inch pit so had to find a tall narrow sump pump. Libery 287 works in our pit.

This is made in the USA and has a good manual. I installed it myself.

I am surprised how quiet it is. I like my Liberty 287 so well I purchases another one. Paying an extra $50 or so over what I find in the Big Box Stores is worth it.  

I also like that it's made in the USA and has a well written honest-to-goodness manual. I've had the pump installed for a couple of weeks and had a good rain. It moves a LOT more water than the other 1/2 hp pumps I've had! And, it does it quietly. I'm well pleased with the pump and plan to buy another to keep on hand for a quick changeover if needed.

Another Liberty 287 December 15, 2013 by T. Brown

We get a lot of water because our basement is below the water table. Therefore, our pump runs even when it is not raining. When it rains, we get a lot of water. As opposed to the Big Box Stores, this 1/2 HP Liberty 287 really performs well and keeps up with the water.

I also like the vertical float switch. It is so narrow and protected on the side of the pump.

This really keeps our basement dry. It is wonderful to know it will perform when those heavy rainstorms come. They seem to be more frequent these days.

An excellent product June 13, 2013 by F. Clifton

Wow, This is a well made American primary submersible sump.  It is so quiet and with my Camplbell quiet check valve the whole pumping operation is very quiet. 

The Liberty 287 is really impressive out of the box. I am very happy with it.

#6 Liberty 287 1/2 HP Features
 
The Liberty 287, a 1/2 HP pump, is a beauty. It is made in the USA. It has a lot of power with a shut off head of 37 feet. It can pump 3,330 GPH at a 10 foot lift.
 
It has a non-clogging design with a vortex impeller. In additional it can handle 3/4 inch solids.
 
The Liberty 287 is unique in that has a one-piece Uni-body casting. In addition it has a quick disconnect power cord. The cord is 10 feet in length. 
 
It comes with either a tethered float or a vertical magnetic float. The housing containing the magnetic switch does not have a rubber seal/gasket thus eliminating potential failure. The VMF takes less room in the sump pit; therefore the Liberty 287 needs only 10 inches of pit diameter. 
 
The shaft is stainless steel which means it will not corrode or pit which could cause it to seize in the motor housing. If the sharft were to seize the motor windings could overrhead and the installation fail.
 
The motor uses ball bearings which is a superior anti-friction bearing as opposed to cast-iron bushings.
 
The Liberty 287 uses 8.6 amps when running and is classified as energy efficient.  
 
The manufacturer offers a 3 year warranty.
 
 

Liberty 287 .50 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump
Liberty 287 1/2 HP Cast Iron

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#7 Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Great Little Pump for the price  September 12, 2014 Dan Schultz

The Little Giant 506158 has a nice small profile for tight pit spaces. I have never used a pump with a diaphragm switch before. So far it is working well. It triggers the pump to turn on when the water level is about 5" above the pump. I have an 8 foot head and it pumps water from the pit quickly. The pump has been installed and working flawlessly for about 2 months from the time of this writing. I do see that the pump has rust stains from the water; however this does not appear to affect it in any way since it is pumping flawlessly.

Works Hard  December 12, 2013 Shawn Barrons

We have a high water table where we live so we have two of the Little Giant 6-CIA submersible sumps in use. 

They have to go off and on a lot. Sometimes they go off and on so much I wonder if they will continue to work. I was especially concerned during Sinady and ome other storms we have had. But the pumps kept working. So glad to have a dry basement. I have had these Little Giants  before and notice that after 6 or 7 years their diaphragm switch gets finiky. I could replace them, but I decided to get new ones.

I am very happy with these Little Giants.

Would you believe 25 years   December 12, 2013 T. Scrhieve

I just bought a replacement for the same model I had installed for 25 years. I do get quite a bit of water in the pit so the motor moves a lot of water when we get rain. It seems like these pumps run forever. I never expected my old one to last 25 years.

I highly reommend the Little Giant 506158. It is built to last and do a good job at a reasonable price. 

Great primary submersible sump! June 6, 2013  Sam K. 

Our old sump ran for 16 years. We replaced it this morning with the same model because it has worked well for us. I decided it was time to replace it when i noted it kept pumping every 3 to 4 minues. I figured the diaphragm switch needed replacement. But after 16 years I decided to get a new pump instead. The Little Giant 506158 is good

Preferred submersible sump for me!! May 6, 2013  Dorothy A.

I have always used Little Giant products and their quality outlives all others.

#7 Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 1/3 HP Features
 
The Little Giant 506158 is 1/3 HP, but it has a lot of pumping power. It removes 1,7020 GPH at a 10 foot lift and 2,769 FHP at a 5 foot lift. The discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches.
 
It has a non cloggin impeller with a cast iron motor housing with an epoxy coating for corrosion resistance.   and cold rolled steel shaft. The impeller is made of nylon and the volute ois made of polypropylene. The fastners are made of stainless steel and will not rust. 
 
The Little Giant 506158 only uses 9 amps when running and has an 8 foot power cord which is a pihggy back cord. . 
 
Its dimensions are 6 inches high, 9.5 inches long and 8.5 inches from the narrowest part; therefore it will fit into a narrow pit.
 
It has a diaphragm switch which means the diaphragm concaves and convexes as the water in pit rises and lowers. It is the pressure of the water that causes the switch to turn oon activitation the pump. The switch activates when the water level is between 7 to 10 inches and shuts off when the water level falls between 1 and 4 inches .  .
 

Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 .33 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Little Giant 6-CIA 506158 1/3 HP Cast Iron

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#8 Wayne 58321-WYN3 (CDU980E)1/3 Horsepower Consumer Reviews

Replaced an older one with this.  September 9, 2014 by G Hassle

The Wayne 58321 moves a lot of water out and fast. We like it so much we think we will replace our other two older ones with Wayne 58321.  

So far this is good June 11, 2014 by S. McKee

The Wayne 58321 looks like it will work well for us. It does not have a screen on the bottom so small stones from our pit will get caught.

It is very quiet. I like the handle it has so I can put a chain on it when I need to pull it out it will be easier.

I feel the switch is reliable too. Overall I am very pleased with it.

This works great. Do watch the intakes December 11, 2013 by R. Wynberg

We have had our Wyane pump for over 4 months now and like it. I did have to clean the intakes once however because we have washwater and stairwell water enter the pit so it has lint and other stuff in it. The debris clogged the intake. Our backup pump was running and I couldn't figure out why. The intake was clogged on our Wayne 58321, once I cleaned it, the pump worked as good as new again.

Fast and quiet August 1, 2013 by J. Cummans

This pump has a nice look to it. It has more power than the one I installed before. It almost seems that it is too big because it only took a few seconds to pump the water out of the pit. Anyway, it is much faster than my old one. It was easly to install.

#8 Wayne 58321-WYN3 (CDU980E)1/3 HorsePower Features
 
The Wayne 58321-WYN3 has a cast iron base and cover with stainless steel housing.  
 
Since it is a 3/4 HP it removes water quickly in small pits. It can perform at  3,5000 GPH at a 10 foot level. Ar 0 feet it can move 4600 GPH. The Wayne 58321 is best installed in a larger pit (at least 18 inches) and has a lot of water to move so that it does not short cycle which wears the motor out. .
 
The Wayne 58321 pump is submersible and can handle continiuous operation well.
 
There is a top suction which prevents air lock and debri for clogging in the bottom. It is also designed for a 1/1/2 inbch discgharge piping system.
 
The vertical mechanical switch goes on when the water reaches 9 inches and the motor shuts off at 4 inches. 
 
 
The manufacturer offers a 5 year warranty.
 
 

Wayne 58321-WYN3 .75 HP Stainless Steel Submersible Sump Pump
Wayne 58321-WYN3 3/4 HP Stainless Steel

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#9 Wayne EE980 3/4 HP consumer Reviews

Sump Pump, May 21, 2014 Joseph K.

I bought this to replace another "quality" pump that failed in less than two years. Installation was easy. The pump is quiet, fast, and efficient, and solved my basement water problem. I like the pump.!

I can relax  November March 18, 2013  Samson, NJ

We are on a flood plaine and water accumlated quickly behind our house as welll as in the pit. Out old sump pump had to work very hard to keep up. Sometimes I thought the water would go over the pit top. With the Wayne EE980 I can relax more because this sump pump can pump more water much quicker. I like mine so much I also installed one at my parents basement too. Great pump, it worth every dollar you spent and easy to install.

Great Pump, February 20, 2014 By Joe F. TX

I have had 2 of these pumps in use for 2 years with no problems. They pump water very fast. They have functioned  properly each time it rains, which has been very often these last few years. ..

Good Quality , February 17, 2013 T. Shetland

The Wayne EE980 is doing its job for us. It is well constructed. I like the  fit and finish. It is very quiet and really moves water in a hurry. It takes about 8 seconds to remove the water from the pit. My last pump was not as good as this model.  It is a bit more expensive than similar models by other manufacturers, but I believe this one will last much longer based on its stainless steel construction and excellent design.

#9 Wayne EE980 3/4 HP Features
 
The Wayne EE980 sump pump is powerful and should be installed in a larger sump pit, at least 18 inches in diamerter even though its dimensions would allow it be installed in an eleven inch diamater pit. It can pump 4600 GPH at 0 feet; 4300 GPH at 5 feet and 3500 GPH at 10 foot lift. The maximum lift before water willl stop flowing is 22 feet height. 90 and 45 degree elblows and horizontal piping does not add more than 3 feet to the vertical height for total head calculation.
 
Its vertical float is protected by a guard so the float will not get caught on the sump wall. The float switch activates the pump when the water is 9-10 inches high and the pump shuts off at 3-4 inches. The switch is waterproof.
 
The pump housing is stainless steel with a cast iron base and cover. The cast iron adds weight to stablize the pump when it is operating continuously at high pumping rates. The impeller shaft is also stainless steel.
 
The EE980 is so names because it is energy efficient. The running amphperage for this pump at a 10 foot height is 4.5 amps. 
 
The power cord is 8 feet. 
 
The pump comes with a manual; however it is very easy to install if you are replacing an existing sump pump.
 
The manufacturer offers a 5 year warranty.  
 
 

Wayne EE980 .75 HP Stainless Steel Submersible Sump
Wayne EE980 3/4 HP Stainless Steel

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#10 Wayne 58325-WYN1 (RSP130)1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Works great  September 22, 2014 by Dale J

I installed the Wayne 58325 several months ago. It is working great. We have had some heavier rains to test it out. It was easy to install.  

Unusal application June 11, 2014 by S. Kramer

I am sure my usage of the Wayne 58325 is unique; therefore I am letting you know how I used it in case my idea may help you. I have a spring fed well which I use to water my grass and plants. I have suspended the Wayne 58325 in the well and the tether float switch is used to control how long the motor runs. It works perfectly. I like thermoplastic because it is lighter for suspending and will not rust. The 25 foot cord is very handy,

We use it for our waterfall December 15, 2013 by T. Hammerton

I put the pump in our pond, run the water up the 5 foot hose and then it comes down over the falls. We like the twenty-five foot cord. 

Solid built  August 11, 2013 by F. Whitehall

The Wayne RSP130 is solid and well-built. The price is so econmical too. Thank you Wayne.  

#10 Wayne 58325-WYN1 (RSP130) 1/3 HP Features
 
The Wayne 58325 also known as RSP130 is a submersible 1/3 HP tethered piggyback float switch. The piggyback float switch means this pump could be manually run without the float if the float failed. Thje tethered float because of its swing up and out when the water rises requires a 14 inch pit diameter. It comes with a 25 foot cord.
 
The RSP310 has a top suction design to handle sump pit debris.   
 
The ON level for the motor is 14 inches and the OFF level is 7 inches. At a 10 foot lift it can remove 2460 GPH. At 0 feet it pumps 2820 GPH. The discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches.
 
The housing, volute, and impeller shaft are made of glass reinforced polypropylene. 
 
The motor uses 11 amps during operation. .
 
The manufacturer offers a one year warranty.
 
 

Wayne RSP130 58325-WYN-1 1/3 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump Pump
Wayne RSP130 58325-WYN-1 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#11 Flotec FPOS1800A-03 1/4 HP consumer Reviews

The Flotec performs, January 15, 2014 David Harris 

I installed this unit when another larger, cast iron, older (more expensive) unit failed.  It was easy to connect and once installed, it pumped and pumped and pumped.

San Diego just got almost as much rain in Dec as we got all last year; this pump handled all the water with no problem! I'm hoping for many years of service from it as it has a plastic housing instead of cast iron which corrodes in a year or two.

p.s. Sometimes using a smaller HP sump pump is better as the pump does not pump so fast that it empties the "sump" only to stop and then have start up again once the sump fills; remember the sump pump is cooled by being in contact with the water, so it is not good to have the sump pump above water.

Sump Pump Pumps Well, May 23, 2013 E Harper, Chicago, IL

The Flotec FPO1800 works well. consumer service was helpful and polite on the telephone when we had a question about the installation. It did not come with instructions, but information is available on the internet.

#11 Flotec FPOS1800A-03 1/3 HP Features
 
The Flotec FPOS1800A automatic primary submersible sump is 1/4 HP and removes 2880 GPH at 0 feet.
 
Since the float is tether style, it requires a 14 inch diameter pit.
 
The housing is corrosion resistant and made of engineered composite material. 
 
It has a 8 foot grounded cord. The float switch is piggyback which allows for manual or automatic operation. To operate manually the motor plug can be unplugges from the piggyback float outlet and pluggied directly in the wall socket.
 
The discharge port is 1 1/4 inches; therefore if an adapter is used at the pump port, it can be adapted with a 1 1/2 inch discharge piping system.  .
 
The Flotec FPSO1800A has a screened top inlet to decrease clogging. Period maintenance should include cleaning the inlet. 
 

Flotec FPO1800A-3 .25 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump
Flotec FPO1800A-3 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#12 Flotec FPOS2450A 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Does the job  August 22, 2014 by Henry Braeman

The Flotec FPOS2450 does what I was hoping. It is compact so fits in my small 10 pit. I wanted a vertical float because they take less room and do not get caught in the pit.

I also like the T handle. This makes it easy to hang on to when removing it from the pit to clean the intake.

I forgot to check the length of the powercord. Fortunately the cord was 8 feet because we need 7' 10. It is fine.

Flotec Has Power  June 11, 2014 by S. Monroe

This is narrow and fit into my ten inch diameter sump pit. It does the pumping I need. I am happy with the FPOS2450.

Works OK for my application December 2, 2013 by T. Hanson

We have had the FPOS 2450 for 5 years now. It is still running good. I am surprised at its performance. I am getting another one because I expect I will need a new one soon.

We use this outside May 2, 2013 by T. Jackson

We have installed this pump outside so in the winter I am concerned about it freezing. I drilled a small 1/16 inch hole in the bottom of the volute so no water will remain in the pump so there is nothing to free in the winter.  

#12 Flotec FPOS2450A 1/3 HP Features
 
The Flotec FPOS2450 automatic submersible sumppump is 1/4 HP and pumsp 3150 GPH at 0 feet.
 
The float is vertical; therefore the pump can be installed in a 10 inch diameter sump basin.
 
The housing is corrosion resistant and made of engineered composite material. 
 
Teh motor cord is eight feet. 
 
The discharge port is 1 1/4 inches; therefore if an adapter is used at the pump port, it can be adapted with a 1 1/2 inch discharge piping system.  .
 
The Flotec FPSO2450A has a screened top inlet to decrease clogging. If your pit has debri, it is important to periodically clean the inlet. 
 
 

Flotec FPOS2450A-01 .33 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump Pump
Flotec FPOS2450A-01 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Return to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#13 Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SFS 506630  1/3 HP consumer Reviews

My Little Giant 6EN-CIA SFS lasted 14 years,  August 2, 2014 by Tony Sherman

I have had my Little Giant 506630 for 14 years. It is a cast iron pump and has held up well. The onlly thing wrong with it is that the float got punctured. The float filled with water and it failed. I did not know such a thing was possible, but I guess using it for 14 years is a long time. I am getting another one.  

Good product March 11, 2014 by S. White

This pump is easy to install. It was heavier than I expected; however the body is cast iron. It won't move around much in the pit when it works hard and pumps continuously during heavy storms. I like the vertical float. It fits into my small pit.

Bought another one October 5, 2013 by T. Summers

The last one we had was over 10 years old. Since it lasted that long before failling I decided to get another 6EN-CUA-SFS. It is quiet and energy efficieint.

#13 Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SFS  506630 1/3 HP Features
 
The Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SPS 506630 1/3 HP Automtic Primary Sump Pump has a vertical float switch. This is not the typical float switch used by Little Giant. This pump can pump 3000 GPH at a 5 foot height.  At a 10 foot height it pumps 1740 GPH.
 
It comes with a non-clogging vortex impeller and can pass up to 1/2 inch spherical solids.  
 
The base is polypropylene and the housiing is cast iron. The housing is epoxy coated to protect against corrosion and rust. The handle, screws and bolts are stainless steel. 
 
The motor is energy efficent using only 6  amps in running mode. 
 
The manufacturer offers a two year warranty..
 
 

Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SFS 1/3 HP  .33 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Little Giant 6EN-CIA-SFS 1/3 HP Cast Iron

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#14 Wayne 57610-WYN1 SPF33 consumer Reviews

Quiet, Works well September 2, 2014 by B Hall

I installed it myself. It was easy to install. I have an 18 inch diameter pit so will install a 6 inch wide battery backup pump with it.  The SPF33 is much quieter than my older brand. I am very happy with it.

Seems good June 11, 2014 by S. Hampton

I am not an expert on sump pumps, but this seems to be good. It is working well for me. I am surprised how quiet it is and how fast it performs since it is 1/3 HP. My last pump lasted 26 years. I hope this one lasts as long. 

Used to drain my pool December 9, 2013 by T. Jameson

We have a 9700 gallon pool above ground. We use this to empty our pool in the fall. It only too under 2 hours to remove 3 feet of water. I like the Wayne 57610.    

#14 Wayne 57610-WYN1 1/3 SPF33 tures
 
The Wayne 576100WYN1 SPF33 sump pump is 1/3 HP with impeller shaft of carbon steel and motor houosing, volute and cover made of glass reinforeced thermoplastic. 
 
It has a top suction design to elilminate air lock and clogging of debris from the bottom.  
 
At a 0 feet it can move 33600 GPH and at 10 feet height it can move 2500 GPH.
The discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches. The motor turns on at 9 inhces and goes off at 4 inches.
 
The vertical float does not require as much room as a tethered float; therefore it will fit into an 11 inch diameter basin.
 
The manufacturer offers a 1 year warranty.
 
 

Wayne 57610-WYN1 1/3 HP .33 HP THermoplastic Submersible Sump Pump
Wayne 57610-WYN1 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#15 Superior 92250 1/4 HP consumer Reviews

Float is detachable,  June 2, 2014 by Tommy Zoeller

This is my first Superior product. I like the fact that I can remove the float and use as a utility pump. It is powerful. I have it connected to a 5/8 inch 25 foot garden hose with the last 3 feet of it raised vertically. At that configuration it still puts out a full stream. It runs every ten minutes. I have had it installed for three years. It is still working fine.

Works as advertized and its easy to install March 11, 2014 by S. McCormick

I am not a mechanic, but I figured out how to use it. I put the pump in the sump,  attached it to the discharge pipe, plugged it in and watched it go. It has a 6 foot veritcal disantce and it pumps with gusto. The pump has great power.

Great Product October 6, 2013 by T. Shulty

This works great. I found the directions very straightforward.  t noticed when the Superior 92250 is installed the float is designed to keep the water level at a height which keeps the pump submerged and cooled. The Superior pump 92250 operates very quietly, so quietly at times I wonder if it is working. 

Name fits the product. It is a Superior.  April 6, 2013 by T. McCarson

This is great for a fairly low cost. It runs even when we dio not have rain, probably every couple of hours. So far it just keeps pumping. It is a quiet. It is also a very energy efficient 3.8 apms.

#15 Superior Pump 92250 1/4 HP Features
 
The Superior 92250 is only 1/4 HP, but it has a lot of pumping power. It removes 1,800 GPH at a 0 foot lift. At a 10 foot lift it performs at 1,200 GHP and at 5 feet it performs at 1320 GPH. It can lift water up to 25 feet vertically. The discharge port size is 1 1/4 inches and can be adapted to use with a 1 1/2 inch discharge piping system..
 
This is an energy efficent motor using only 3.8 amps in running mode.
 
Since the float is tether style, it can be adjusted to deteriming the pump 'on' and 'off' height. Tethered floats always require a larger pit. The Superior 92250 requires a 14 inch diameter pit.
 
The housing is thermoplastic. Therfore it is not subject to corrosion or rust. The plastic is strong enough to handle continuous pumping at 1,800 GPH period of time during a heavy rainstorm.
 
It has a bottom suction design with an intake screen which will require routine cleaning. It can handle 1/8 inch solids.
 
The float can be removed and can be used as a utility pump.
 
The manufacturer offers a one year warranty.
 

Superior 92250 .25 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump
Superior 92250 1/4 HP Thermoplastic

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#16 Liberty 247 1/4 HP consumer Reviews

10 Years old and still running  September 22, 2014 by Dan Thompson

I had this Liberty 247 installed for 10 years and it has worked perfectly. It has pumped thousands of gallons and more because we live in a high water table area. I would say it has worked heavy duty during the past 10 years. This is incredible no problems  I just bougth another one now because sooner or later it will fail. It is had to find Liberty in local stores. I am glad they can be purchased online.

Built well I hope the float does get caught on the pit   June 11, 2014 by H. Lacrosse

The Liberty 247 is very well buit. It is so nice to find a 1/4 HP that is cast iron and has weight. The Liberty 247 and my battery backup pump just fit into my pit. I hope the Liverty 247 does not move while pumping because there is not much to protect the float from getting jammed against the basin wall.   

Another Liberty 247 December 15, 2013 by T. Jamesonl

We have had our Liberty 247 for 6 years. It is still running great but since it runs so much every spiing when the snow thaws, I want to have another one just in case. We have a very high water table so it runs a lot. The only thing I would change is the interval at which it turns on and off. It comes on when the water is 7 inches high and goes off when it is 3 inches high. After 6 years I guess I cannot complain because it has worked perfectly even though it turns on and off a lot.

This is the one for me August 15, 2013 by S. Champ

I keep going through a sump pump per year. They either rust out, overheat or the floats fail. I am used to buying from Big Box stores. I started shopping on the internet and have found much more options. I came across this one and find it to be superior over Big Box stores. I am going to try it. The consumer reviews speak so highly of Liberty Pumps.  

#16 Liberty 247 1/4 HP Features
 
The Liberty 247 is one of the unural 1/4 HP sump pumps that is made of cast iron. Genrally 1/4 HPs are made of thermoplastic. The motor shaft is stainless steel.  In addition, like all Liberty pumps the body is all one piece (the volute and housing).
 
As for pumping capability, at 0 feet it can removep 2040 GPH. At 5 feet it can remove 1800 GPH and a t 10 feet it can remove 1380 GPH. The maximum foot head lift is 20 feet.
 
It has peripheral port inlets eliminating the buttom suction which so easily gets clogged. 
 
This model has a vertical magnetic float switch which is narrow so takes up very little pit space. A magnetic float switch is more dependable than a mechanical float switch. The Liberty 240 series also have a wide-angle float option.  The 247 wil; fot om a 10 inch diameter pit.
 
The Liberty 247 also has a quick disconnect power chord for quick detachment and replacemnt should tha be necessary. The 247 comes with a 10 foot power cord.
 
This pump uses 6.0 amps when running. 
 
It weights 21 pounds so is considered heavy for a 1/4 HP sump pump. The weight will give the pump stability during continuous pumping for periods of time.
 
The size is good to use where there are small pieces of debris in the water. It has a vortex styled impeller, thus no screen to clean, and it can pass up to 1/4 inch solids.
 
The manufacturer offers a 2 year warranty.
 
 

Liberty 247 1/4 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Liberty 247 1/4 HP Cast Iron

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#17 Red Lion RL-SC50T 1/2 HP consumer Reviews

The Red Lion is a good Deal  April 12, 2014 by Terry Ogliby

I looked on the internet before buying the Red Lion. The warranty is important to me. I was looking for at least a 3 year warranty and easy warranty service. I found Red Lion only requires you to return the label from the defective pump. The SC50T does have a 3 uear warramty, 

Little Red lifesaver March 11, 2013 by S. Thomas

I had a flooded basment due to the heavy New York rainstorms. Every pump was sold out locally, but I had my Red Lion. In less than two days the SC50T removed all of the water from my basement. It probably pumped at least 90,000 gallons of water. It worked very well except a couple of times rocks got stuck in it. Thats what happens with a flood. I just umplugged the pump, dislodged the rock, pluggged it back in and it ran again. I am so thankful for the Red Lion RL-SC50.

This is the best I have owned February 20, 2013 by T. Whitel

This pump is quiet. It works great. It has great construction. I have no complaints. .

#17 Red Lion RL-SC50T 1/2 HP Features
 
The Red Lion RL-SC50T is 1/2 HP cast iron pump with a tethered float switch. It can pump 4300 GPH at 0 height. The shut off height is 28 feet.  
 
It is energy efficent using only 5.3 amps in running mode. 
 
The power cord is 8 feet.
 
The float is tethered which means the switch is a buoy device attached to a cord that raises and lowers as the water level raises and lowers.  It requires a pit diameter size of at least 16 inches.  
 
It has a clog resistant design and can handle solids up to 1/2 inch.
 
The float switch is piggyback which means it can be run manually by taking the power cord from the piggyback switch circuit and pluggin it directly in a wall outlet.
 
The manufactuer offers a 3 year warranty.
 

Red Lion RL-SC50T .5 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump Pump
Red Lion RL-SC50T 1/2 HP Cast Iron

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Back to Top of Page.

#18 Flotec E75VLT 3/4 HP consumer Reviews

Powerful Pump  September 22, 2014 by Tom Hoover

Our house is in a high water table area. We have a 12 foot deep basement which totals 2300 square feet. We have a lot of water that needs to be pumped out daily. I have tried several pumps and none of them could do the job.

This pump is amazing. It has to pump water 25 vertical feet and it does it with no problem. How glad I am to have found this pump.

This pump pushes water  June 11, 2014 by S. Gann

I am glad l purchased the SC50T. It has a lot of power. I figures out I canould use it for moving water from our waterfalls as well. I like the fact that it has a 5 year warranty. 

Made modifiations  April 11, 2014 by S. Dunn

I needed a 3/4 HP because we get a lot of water during heavy rainstorms. We also have a high water table level so it runs even when it is not raining. I did not like the fact that I cannot set the on and off position of the float so I bought a HC6000. The HC6000 switch controller has two probes which I set their height which tells the pump when to run and when to stop running. I also installed a Campbell quiet check valve. So I am very happy with our sump pump system set up now. It does not recycle so much and it runs very quietly.

#18 Flotec E75VLT 3/4 HP Features
 
The Flotec E75VLT is a 3/4 HP cast iron sump pump with a vertical float switch. The pump turns on when the water level is 7 1/2 inches and shuts off when 3 inches. At 0 feet the flow rate is 5260 GPH. Atg 10 foot lift it pumps 2040 GPH.  Maximum pumping height is 25 feetThe discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches.
 
Ther vertical float is a piggyback float switch which meas that the pump can be run manually or automatically. To run it automatically the float switch is pumped into the wall socket and the motor cord is plugged into the float switch piggyback socket. To run the pump manually, the float switch is not used and the pump motor is plugged directly into the wall socket.
 
The pump will fit into a 10 inch diameter pit.
 
This pump uses 6.8 amps when running and 10 starting amps..  
 
The E75VLT can handle 3/8 inch solids.
 
The cord length is 10 feet. 
 
The manufacturer offers a 5 year warranty.
 
 

Flotec E75VLT .75 HP Cast Iron Submersible Sump
Flotec E75VLT 3/4 HP Cast Iron

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 

#19 Basement Watchdog BW1050 1/2 HP consumer Reviews

Quiet, Compact and Powerful, February 15, 2014 By Joe Hathway

I purchased this pump as a replacement for my standard noisy sump pump with an exposed float. I kept having problems with float hang-up and shaft seizure on three different "dry motor pumps".

Installation was a breeze. The pump is compact and quiet. It is removable by unplugging the AC cord and loosening one plastic pipe union about six feet up from the pump discharge outlet. Since I have a dry bottom sump, I do this periodically (at least once per year) to replace the top 2 inches of sand with coarse blasting sand. This keeps the pit clean and dry. I keep the pump inlet about 4 inches from the bottom to avoid handling debris. That bottom drainage removes the remaining water so there is no standing water in the sump pit.

The only additional thing that I had to do was to use a Ty-Rap® to hold the control box to the wall receptacle. Just loosen the wall plate and tighten it again about halfway on a Ty-Rap®, then engage the Ty-Rap® and tighten it after the control box is plugged in. It is a bit too easy to accidentally bump this and have it fall out for my liking.

Best Pump, October 5, 2013 By Charlie Perry

This is the best pump that I have found for this purpose so far. None of my other pumps have lasted the three years that this one is warranted for.

Good Pump with Good Price, September 15, 2013 By Sheryl Zitterman

This is a good pump. I was surpised by the fact that the pump runs a minimum of 10 seconds 0nce it is activated so I put the switch cage higher so the sump pump would not run dry before the 10 seconds

#19 Basement Watchdog BW1050 1/2 HP Features
 

The Watchdog BW1050 is unique in that it has a dual externally attached float switch. The float switch has several advantages.

First if the first switch fails, there is a redundant second one ready to go.

Secondly, the floats are in a cage that protects the floats from getting caught on the pit sides; the bottom of the cage is is sloped downwards from the center so degris will not settle in the middle ofthe cage and interfere with float operation.

Third, the float switch cage is not solid state (attached to the pump); therefore it is very easy to replace; the sump pump does not have to be removed from the pit. The float switch cage does not require additional sump pit width because it is attached to the discharge pipe.  The homowner can determine the height for the cage.

The pump housing is made of cast aluminum and the base is made of cast iron. The fasteners are made of stainless steel.

The BW1050 has a 1/2 HP motor with a pump capability of 2,820 GPH. It has a pumping height limit of 19 feet;

This sump pump runs very efficiently at 4.2 amps.

 

Basement Watchdog BW1050 .5 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump Pump
Basement Watchdog BW1050 1/2 HP Thermoplastic

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
 
Return to Top of Page.

#20 Basement Watchdog BW1033 1/3 HP consumer Reviews

Surprised how quiet this is!  September 2, 2014 by Ron Halbrek

This pump is ideal for my water pumping situation. I had an old pump that ran every 6-7 seconds because i could not set the float switch level. This float switch for this pump is separate from the pump so I can place the float switch higher on the discharge pipe. Now the BW1033 pump runs every couple of hours. This is a big difference. I did have to test the height of the float switch out; however because the switch is present to run the pump 10 seconds once it is activated.

In addition, the pump only uses 3.5 amps so I am saving on electricity. 

Great Pump  March 11, 2014 by S. Swan

This pump has a small footprint in my sump pump so I could easily install a battery backup sump pump as well.

I am surprised how quiet the pump runs especially since it is right below our master bedroom.

I did have to work on how high to attache the float switch cage to the discharge pipe because once the switch is activated the pump runs for 10 seconds. I cannot let the pump run dry or it will burn out.

The water pipe comes out from the top.  December 8, 2013 by G. Ellisl

We have a small sump pit therefore I was looiking for soomething with a small footprint. The Basement Watchdog works perfectly because not only is the footprint small but the float witch is attached to the discharge pipe and the discharge pipe is attached at the top of the pump. I have not found another one that is built this way. This works very well for our sump pit. 

#20 Basement Watchdog BW1033 1/3 HP Features
 
The Basement Watchdog BW1033 is a 1/3 HP. The housing is cast aluminum and the base is cast iron. The fasteners and shaft are stainless steel.  The discharge port size is 1 1/2 inches.
 
This pump uses 3.5 amps when running which makes it very energy efficient. 
 
The float design is unique in that it is not solid state that means it is not attached directly to the pump. The float switches are caged thus they are protected from sump basin wall lhang up. The cage is attached to the discharge pipe; therefore the float do not take up additional pit space. In fact the size is small and will fit into a 7 inch pit. The cage contains two float switches. The dual float switches provide added protection. If one fails the other one can begin operation.
 
It is unique also because the length of time the pump runs is preset to 10 seconds. Therefore when installing the switch it is necessary to test different heights at which to place the switch on the discharge pipe high enough so the impeller is still submersed in water when the motor stops. It is important the pump does not run dry when pumping.
 
The cord length is 10 feet.
 
The manufacturer offers a 3 year warranty.
 
 

Basement Watchdog BW1033 .33 HP Thermoplastic Submersible Sump Pump
Basement Watchdog BW1033 1/3 HP Thermoplastic

 
Back to Features Top 20          Return to Consumer Reviews Top 20
Return to Top of Page.
 

Purchase Links For Each Of The Submersible Sump Top 20

Both the picture and Text are clickable.
 
 :
 
Back to Top of Page.
 

Related Information About Primary Submersible Sump Pumps Including Features

 
 

Related Information: Discover More Best Selling Sump Pumps By Type

      including the new Wayne WSM3300 Battery Backup Sump Pump
 
Return to Top of Page.
 :
Share Helpful Information With Others
 
 
 
       
Find out more quickly the best products for your needs and pleasure today at lowest prices.
www.FindOutMoreQuickly.com